Yesterday Governor Walz announced that Minnesota is piloting a COVID-19 community vaccine program, partnering with local public health and school districts, to place nine pilot sites across the state. A very limited amount of appointments will be available at each site, sign up starts today, Tuesday, January 19th at 12:00 p.m. Below is some information from yesterday’s announcement.

Pilot vaccination sites will be located in: Anoka, Brooklyn Center, Fergus Falls, Marshall, Mountain Iron, North Mankato, Rochester, St. Cloud, and Thief River Falls.

  • Note: Because the vaccine is available by appointment only at these sites, MDH is waiting to share the location details with Minnesotans until after they have secured an appointment. If you are a Senator serving one of these pilot areas, you should have received an email from MDH with a bit more information highlighting the appointment process.  

Who is eligible to schedule vaccinations at pilot sites:

  1. Adults aged 65 years or older;
  2. Pre-k through grade 12 educators and child care workers that have been notified by their employer that they have been selected to receive the vaccine. 

MDH says that if Minnesotans over 65 prefer to get the vaccine at their regular health care provider, please do not contact them at this time. Your provider will let you know when there is vaccine available for eligible patients. 

How to make an appointment:

By phone: 612-426-7230 or toll free at 833-431-2053.
Appointments for pilot sites are made available every Tuesday at noon, starting Tuesday, January 19, at 12 p.m.
Vaccine is available by appointment only. Walk-ins will not be accepted. 


In your service,